Coffee Cake Muffins

School food, it could taste better. The coffee cake the give out for breakfast though, now that’s to die for!

 

I found a recipe that comes pretty close to tasting like the one from school. Unfortunately, this time I forgot to take pictures of every step but I have included the ones that I took πŸ™‚

 

Sugars, salt, and cinnamon all mixed together. I combined them using a fork because to me it's the simplest way.

Sugars, salt, and cinnamon all mixed together. I combined them using a fork because to me it’s the simplest way.

Cinnamon, sugars, and salt combined.

Pouring in the melted butter.

after mixing in the melted butter it should look like this

after mixing in the melted butter it should look like this

Using a spatula, mix in the flour until it looks like chunks of sand.

Using a spatula, mix in the flour until it looks like chunks of sand.

 

separate the crumb topping on a piece of parchment paper over a cookie pan, and let it cool.

separate the crumb topping on a piece of parchment paper over a cookie pan, and let it cool.

 

milk, canola oil, and egg once they have all been combined

milk, canola oil, and egg once they have all been combined

Pour the canola oil, milk, and eggs mixture into the flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda and salt combination.

Pour the canola oil, milk, and eggs mixture into the flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda and salt combination. After it’s all been mixed it should have the consistency of cake batter

Pour the batter evenly into cupcake cups

Pour the batter evenly into cupcake cups

Cover the cupcakes with crumbs before you put them into the oven, be careful though because the cupcakes rise and they'll end up looking like mine - it's fixable.

Cover the cupcakes with crumbs before you put them into the oven, be careful though because the cupcakes rise and they’ll end up looking like mine – it’s fixable.

I almost always have one or to mishaps when it comes to baking.But of course, practice is fun and it helps!  I was happy to see that some of these muffins did come out pretty.

I almost always have one or to mishaps when it comes to baking.But of course, practice is fun and it helps! I was happy to see that some of these muffins did come out pretty – the prettiest compared to the rest πŸ˜‰

I glazed the top as it said in the recipe, but I would recommend that you skip this step, as the muffins taste better without it!

I glazed the top as it said in the recipe, but I would recommend that you skip this step, as the muffins taste better without it!

 

It doesn’t hurt to add something different like walnuts into the batter or onto the crumb topping! Changing little things makes it all more fun πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

